The one in which I prove I am thoroughly crazy…

So I am doing something that is quite outside of my comfort zone. Oh sure, I am capable of talking in front of large groups of people, and I have even become more at ease with singing in front of large groups of people. I will wear a silly hat, fake nose, costume or head bobble pretty much any time, any place. But I don’t really like tooting my own horn. Part of the joy of my profession is that even if you do absolutely  nothing to advertise you exist, people still find their way to the financial aid office. 

But toot my own horn I will need to do. With enthusiasm and gusto. I am officially a candidate for the school committee here in Waltham 

I even have a website and a facebook page.

Yesterday I found out that there are now 7 candidates for the 3 positions open in November. They can only have 6 on the ballot. Preliminary election here we come. So as The Bob put it, I get to run twice. Wheee! But this means campaigning. Saying HI I’m Michele blahblahblah vote for me. Someone also mentioned a fund raiser. FUND RAISING?? I need a nap.

I am actually very committed to this cause. I have been spending time watching the school committee meetings over the last few months (you should try it sometime, it is very educational, no pun intended at all) and feel that my experience as an administrator in higher education for 23 years will actually be useful. I feel that if I am willing to complain about how things are being run, I should also be willing to serve and help make a difference. So I am.

I am not a long time resident of Waltham, we have lived here only 8 years, which compared to some of the competition makes me a real outsider. But I do have a child in the school system, and I think I can be of use. So I will give it a shot.

In other news, it has finally gotten hot here. We have been spending ridiculous amounts of time in the pool. I received an ice cream making attachment to my KitchenAid mixer, an early birthday present. What I did not know is that this is practically a two day process, between freezing the bowl for at least 15 hours, making the batter that is the base of the ice cream which needs to chill for at least 8 hours and then there is 20 or so minutes of mixing, and possibly another hour of freezing until you finally have ice cream.

However. It is the best ice cream you will ever eat. We made the vanilla base, and added crushed Oreos for a Cookies ‘n Cream flavor. OUTSTANDING. I am going to investigate other recipes for less caloric (2.5 cups of half and half, 2.5 cups of whipping cream, one cup of sugar hello hips and thighs) options, like gelato and sorbet. But YAY for ice cream!

I hope you all have a lovely holiday weekend. It is my 49th birthday on Sunday. The penultimate year before the big 50. Wheeeee….

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The one in which I prove I am thoroughly crazy…

  1. Wow, you have A LOT going on.

    Happy early birthday!

    Good luck on the campaign trail.

    And, I want ice cream now, thanks for that.

  2. Needless to say, YOU HAVE MY VOTE, for, like everything.

Leave a Reply

