Oh HEY THERE

Where did those last two weeks go? Oh that’s right. Vegas. I went to Vegas for four days in the middle of the last two weeks. Have you ever been to Vegas in July? It is much like I imagine the surface of Mars feels like. I had left sweltering heat back home too, but back home my air conditioned air does not smell of ancient cigarette smoke and whatever that bizarre smell is that vaguely resembles incense. Someone told me it was the chemical cleaner they use in the hotels.

I really hate going to Vegas. The one cool thing I wanted to do, go to the Neon Museum where all the old neon lights from the strip go to live after they are torn down, didn’t happen because of my schedule for the conference and the fact I had no interest in leaving the hotel complex when it was 100 degrees even at 11pm.

I did eat some great meals. I knew that Thomas Keller of the French Laundry fame has a restaurant in Vegas, Bouchon so one evening a group of us ventured forth to have a lovely meal of Steak Frites. He was one of the first chefs to make popular the use of duck fat when making french fries. They were possibly the best fries I have ever eaten. And the Venetian is always fun to visit.

Another evening a group of us from Massachusetts were gathering, and we ended up changing location to the Wolfgang Puck bistro and I had the most fabulous meal of wild boar ragu over pappardelle. Spontaneous pig meat for the win!

I did no gambling. At all. Not even a slot machine. Vegas depresses me. We wandered down the strip one night, in a mob of people, thinking we were going to end at Treasure Island to watch the show, which basically involves watching a fake pirate ship sink in a fake body of water. We never made it, but instead detoured to Caesar’s Palace for a drink. At 11pm at night there are WAY TOO MANY CHILDREN STILL AWAKE. We also played a never ending game of “Girlfriend or Hooker, You Make the Call.” Sadly we were probably wrong in both directions more often than we were right.

The conference was fine. It was about financial aid. I presented on the riveting topic of financial literacy programming. I know, you are jealous. I can send you a signed copy if you like.

Tomorrow we are off to our annual trip to Friendship ME. I don’t know if I will be able to post while there, but stay tuned for an onslaught of pictures if you follow me on Instagram. I am @midlyfemama there if you want to follow me.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Oh HEY THERE

  1. cupcakemurphy

    I can’t picture you in Vegas.

  2. Oh man, Vegas in the summer is awful. Many, MANY years ago, I took my sister for her 21st birthday. Needless to say, copious amounts of alcohol were involved. I was so hungover the next day, and it was 114 degrees out. I pretty much wanted to die.

    Hope you’re enjoying your trip!!

Leave a Reply

